

Council Meeting Minutes Virtual Meeting Saturday, November 14, 2020 1:00 pm-5:30 pm

Council Members Attending		
Board of Directors	Council Officers	Section Representatives
Elaine Mauldin, President	Nancy Nichols Chair	Jennifer Reynolds-Moehrle, AAH
Robert Allen, President-Elect	Monte Swain, Chair-Elect	Alisa Brink, ABO
Mark Beasley, Vice President-Finance	Cindy Durtschi, Past Chair	Mary Curtis, AIS
Mark DeFond, Vice President-Research		Fred Mittelstaedt, APLG
and Publications	International Members-at-Large	LeAnn Luna, ATA
Beth Kern, Vice President-Education	Mandy Cheng	Randal Elder, AUD
Audrey Gramling Director-Focusing on	Sanjay Kallapur	Sandra Shelton, DIV
Segments	Canjay Kalapa	Les Heitger, FA
Mary Harris Stanford, Director-Focusing	Region Representatives	Brian Bushee, FARS
on Intellectual Property	Kang Cheng, Mid-Atlantic	D. Larry Crumbley, GIWB
John Hepp, Director-Focusing	Jason Stanfield, Midwest	Suzanne Lowensohn, GNP
on Academic/Practitioner Interaction	Yvette Lazdowski, Northeast	Mahendra Gujarathi, IAS
Ann Dzuranin, Director-Focusing on	Timothy Miller, Ohio	Monte Swain, MAS
Membership	Eric Bostwick, Southeast	Vaughan Radcliffe, Pl
Giorgio Gotti, Director-Focusing	Mary Fischer, Southwest	Brigitte Muehlmann, SET
on International	Angela Woodland, Western	Bambi Hora, TLC
Yvonne Hinson, Chief Executive Officer		Sidney Askew, TYC
Council Committee Chairs		
Council Advocacy Review Committee	Council Committee on Awards	Council Ballot Committee
Randy Elder	Committee	Brigitte Muehlmann
	Brigitte Muehlmann	.
Guests & Staff Attending		
Marc Rubin, DEI Task Force Chair, AAA Past President		
David DeBoskey, San Diego State University (past Chair of Council Advocacy Review Committee)		
Barbara Brady, Senior Director of Operations		
Erlinda Jones, Senior Director Meetings and Programs		
Nancy Maciag, Manager, Executive and Board Services		
Shauna Bigelow, Segment Relations Manager		
Board & Council Members Not Attending		
Terry Shevlin, Past President		



Council Meeting Minutes Virtual Meeting Saturday, November 14, 2020 1:00 pm-5:30 pm

Meeting Minutes

MSC = Motion, Seconded, Carried MSF = Motion, Seconded, Failed

A. Welcome – Council Chair Nancy Nichols welcomed everyone to the meeting. Everyone shared their thoughts and experiences on dealing with the challenges of teaching virtually and in-person due to the pandemic. The agenda was reviewed with no questions or comments.

MSC to approve the minutes of the July 30, 2020 Council Meeting.

- B. Chief Executive Officer Update Chief Executive Officer Yvonne Hinson informed Council that she is taking time to get to know the AAA staff and has been meeting with Section and Region Leaders to learn about challenges, as well as opportunities within the Segments. Yvonne wants to ensure that there is transparency between members and AAA Headquarters. While there are no plans to replace the Chief Innovation Officer position, or to hire a Chief Operations Officer, the AAA did hire Steve Matzke as the Senior Director of External Relations. Steve will be responsible for building new relationships, as well as work on grants and fundraising. There have also been several people assisting with the tasks formerly handled by Susan Crosson (who retired in July) in the role of Director of the Center for Advancing Accounting Education. Yvonne is looking forward to assisting faculty growth, as well as increasing AAA membership.
- **C. Meetings Model Task Force Update** Brian Bushee, chair of the Meetings Model Task Force, gave an update on their activities. A meeting was held on September 11th on the types of meetings that the AAA can support in the virtual environment as the preference is for the Spring meetings to be held in this environment due to the ongoing pandemic. Pricing for members versus non-members was also discussed, as well as the possibility of retaining a virtual component when meetings do go back to in-person in the future. Senior Director of Meetings and Programs Erlinda Jones discussed the meeting options for the Fall 2020 and Spring 2021 meetings and explained that each Section is being given the option choosing their preferred format which all have AAA branding and support for registration. The higher tier format gives the availability to have more robust options such as more sessions, community rooms, and tech support from CMI, our audio/visual partner. Sponsors could help with the higher costs associated with this format choice
- D. Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Past AAA president and Chair of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Task Force Marc Rubin gave an overview of the DEI Task Force and their charge. The AAA launched a DEI webpage on November 13, 2020 featuring a variety of resources and information. The Task Force will be benchmarking with other organizations such as the AICPA, as well as looking to Segments for ideas. The AAA Board and Staff are dedicated to enhancing DEI efforts. Along with Director-Focusing on Segments Audrey Gramling, Marc led an activity of Council members asking what Segments can do in relations to DEI, as well as what the AAA can do. The breakout groups provided feedback and provided suggestions that the Task Force can discuss.
- E. Council Committee on Awards Committee (CCAC) Nancy Nichols and CCAC Chair Brigitte Muehlmann described the purpose and composition of the CCAC and explained the importance of the committee's work for the AAA. The members who served on the 2019-2020 committee were thanked for their service. Six positions needed to be filled and there was a total of seven nominees. Voting will take place via electronic balloting after the Council Meeting.

After the Council Meeting, one nominee withdrew their name for consideration, and as such the remaining six members were appointed to the CCAC for 2020-2021: Mandy Cheng, Mary Curtis, Mary Fischer, Les Heitger, Yvette Lazdowski, and Sandra Shelton.

F. Membership Discussion – Nancy Nichols and Director-Focusing on Membership Ann Dzuranin talked about the value proposition of membership and membership categories. It is important to not only communicate the importance and benefits of AAA membership, but to make sure that we have the right membership categories to retain current members

Meeting Minutes

MSC = Motion, Seconded, Carried MSF = Motion, Seconded, Failed

as well as attract new ones. Council participated in an activity to discuss what the AAA should be focused on in terms of membership and what potential new membership types should be considered.

- G. Council Advocacy Review Past Chair of the Council Advocacy Review Committee (CARC) David DeBoskey gave an overview of the timeline and activities involved with the proposal that was submitted to the CARC which resulted in the Resolution in Support of Independent Private Sector Accounting Standard-Setting. The proposal was originally submitted in May 2020 and the committee developed a position statement that was approved by the committee on August 31, 2020. That resolution that was then voted on by the entire Council in September and announced to members in October.
- H. Council Ballot Committee (CBC) Nancy Nichols and CBC Chair Brigitte Muehlmann explained the overview of the CBC and today's vote for the two candidates to be placed on the slate for the Board of Directors position for Director-Focusing on Segments. Brigitte explained the roles and responsibilities of the Director position. Brigitte, Nancy, Past Council Chair Cindy Durtschi, Council Chair-Elect Monte Swain, and Yvonne Hinson facilitated the discussions of each of the seven candidates for the position. Following an election, Timothy J. Rupert and David M. Stott were chosen as the candidates to be added to the Slate of Officers for the 2021-2022 Board of Directors election.

The meeting adjourned at 5:46 pm.